queer department

queer{at}hufak.net
Head of department: Quinn Kolz
Office hours: Tuesday 11.00-13.00

Power structures such as (hetero-)sexism, trans- and inter*hostility permeate society and are also reflected in everyday university life. Thus, it is the task of the queer department to break heteronormative logics at the university and to claim queer perspectives in the ÖH and the Angewandte.

LGBTIQA+ and people who do not fit into the binary gender and/ or heteronorm have diverse interests and opinions. It is therefore important for the department’s tasks to think of discrimination as intersectional in order to live up to a reality of life in which all people feel that they belong to different social positions or are assigned to by the society in which they live (education, origin, racialisation, religion, gender, sexual desire, disability, appearance, etc.).

The department sees itself as a contact point for students who experience hetero- and/ or cis-sexist discrimination or who have encountered heteronormative university structures. Hereby the speaker can offer advice, mediate or simply be a conversation partner. In addition, students can be accompanied to the „Arbeitskreis für Gleichbehandlungsfragen“ (Working Group on Equal Treatment Issues). The department can also represent students‘ concerns if they themselves want to remain anonymous.

In addition to university policy, the department does networking work and offers queer workshops. It is open to criticism, ideas or suggestions for cooperation.

Queer Referat

// Queer Referat

Machtstrukturen wie (Hetero-)Sexismus, Trans*-, sowie Inter*feindlichkeit durchziehen die Gesellschaft und schlagen sich auch im universitären Alltag nieder. Daher ist es Aufgabe des Referats, heteronormative Logiken an der Uni zu durchbrechen und queere Perspektiven in der ÖH und der Angewandten einzufordern.

LGBTIQA+ und Personen, die sich nicht in die binäre Geschlechter- und/oder Heteronorm einordnen, haben vielfältige Interessen und Meinungen. Für die Aufgaben des Referats ist es deshalb wichtig, Diskriminierung intersektional zu denken, um einer Lebensrealität gerecht zu werden, in der alle Menschen sich mehreren sozialen Positionierungen zugehörig fühlen bzw. von der Gesellschaft, in der sie leben, zugeordnet werden (nach Bildung, Herkunft, Rassialisierung, Religion, Geschlecht, sexuellem Begehren, Behinderung, Aussehen u.v.a.).

Das Referat versteht sich als Anlaufstelle für Studierende, die hetero- und/oder cis-sexistische Diskriminierung erfahren oder auf heteronormative Unistrukturen gestoßen sind. Hierbei kann der_die  Referent_in Beratung anbieten, vermitteln oder einfach Gesprächspartner_in sein. Zudem können Studierende zum Arbeitskreis für Gleichbehandlungsfragen begleitet werden. Das Referat kann auch die Anliegen von Studierenden vertreten, falls sie selbst anonym bleiben wollen.

Neben der Hochschulpolitik betreibt das Referat Vernetzungsarbeit und bietet queere Workshops an. Es ist für Kritik, Ideen oder Kooperationsvorschläge offen.

Kontakt / Contacts
queer{at}hufak.net

(* Bei der E-Mailadresse bitte {at} duch @ ersetzen.)